St. Ansgar, Iowa December 14, 2020

The St. Ansgar Community School District is an Equal Employment Opportunity and Affirmative Action Educational Agency.

The Board of Directors of the St. Ansgar Community School District met in regular session in the High School Media Center at 5:30 P.M.

Present: Directors Steve Groth, Will Morrow, Lindsey Falk, Kyle Tabbert, Donna Brumm, and Lowanna Hannam. Superintendent Michael Crozier. Board Secretary Emily Johnson-Woods. 2 guests were present.

Absent: Director Bork.

The meeting was called to order by President Groth. Hannam moved, duly 2nd by Morrow, to approve the agenda. Ayes-Morrow, Falk, Tabbert, Brumm, Hannam and Groth. Nays-None.

There were no Citizens or Organizations in attendance to address the Board.

There was one written communication that is from Land O'Lakes. The letter stated that they have donated \$500 to the Backpack Program which matches what Northern County Cooperative's donation to the program was. The School thanks them for their help for with the program.

Administration Reports: Presented in Board Packet.

Superintendent Crozier updated the Board on the softball field project and showed a diagram that shows the board the remaining updates and where they will go.

Superintendent Crozier met with Atura Architecture to help draw up a design for the bus barn. Mr. Crozier would like the board to give him their opinions on what the bus barn's layout should be to help the architect design the best possible bus barn for the School District to utilize. Mr. Crozier will get some more estimates on the items that were discussed.

Director Hannam commented on the intersection that comes into the school parking lot and is a four way stop, but five way road and the one has a yield but cars fly through the intersection and she feels that intersection is dangerous. Mr. Crozier will look into it with the Mayor.

Director Falk commented on the after school program that the District has proposed in the past and he has been attending zoom sessions that pertain to the after school programs, and he would like to see some fellow board members attend the meetings and see if it is something that the school could help the community with. Director Tabbert said that he would attend with Director Falk.

Legislator Jane Bloomingdale was present for discussion. She talked about the State of Iowa's budget and how the State is looking overall. Mrs. Bloomingdale asked the Board what their concerns were and how they feel the District has handled the Pandemic. She complimented the Football team and their great season, as well as the success the Basketball teams are starting out with. Discussion was held on items the District felt important for the legislation to continue working on that would benefit the school.

Falk moved, duly 2nd by Brumm, to approve the Consent Action Items which included the following:

- Minutes from the November 9, 2020 board meeting.
- November 2020 Financial Statements.
- November bills, including prepays in the amount of \$484,210.26.
- Payroll and Payroll related expenditures in the amount of \$493,873.38 for November.

- Approve the November Learning Connection Salary Payments to Sue Loken for \$1,352 (52 @ \$26), Emily Nalan-May \$522.88 (22.25 @ \$23.50), and Theresa Cooper \$391 (16 @ \$23.50).
- Approve ticket taking payment of \$40 to Michelle Caron.
- Approve ticket taking payments in the amount of \$20 each to Kenya Nelson, Lorie Hoeft, Kelli Hemann, Jennifer Nielsen, and Melissa Reams.
- Approve the payment of \$140 for Volleyball Line Judging to Connie Jenkins.
- Approve the payment of \$20 for Volleyball Line Judging to Emily Nalan-May.
- Approve the TQ payment in the amount of \$1,000 to Gretchen Clevenger.
- Approve offering Angela Sturgis as a part-time route driver, to be paid at \$\$22.73 per hour during probation, and \$23.74 after the probation period.
- Approve the resignation of Robert Peterson as MS Boys' Track Coach.

Ayes-Falk, Tabbert, Brumm, Hannam, Groth, and Morrow. Nays-None

Morrow moved, duly 2nd by Tabbert, to approve the Elementary Student Council fundraiser to collect money to donate to the Mitchell County Food Bank and the College Bowl Bonanza Fundraiser. Ayes- Tabbert, Brumm, Hannam, Groth, Morrow, and Falk. Nays-None.

Tabbert moved, duly 2nd by Falk, to approve the SIAC Committee membership as presented in the packet. Ayes- Brumm, Hannam, Groth, Morrow, Falk, and Tabbert. Nays-None.

There were no COVID-19 issues to be discussed.

Morrow moved, duly 2nd by Hannam, to go into closed session to discuss the purchase of real estate under Iowa Code Section 21.5(1)(j). Ayes-Hannam, Groth, Morrow, Falk, Tabbert, and Brumm. Nays-None.

The Board entered into closed session 6:15 P.M.

The Board returned to open session at 6:56 P.M.

Tabbert moved, duly 2nd by Brumm, to approve the resolution setting a public hearing on January 18, 2021, at 5:30 P.M in the MS/HS Library regarding the purchase of real estate. Ayes-Morrow, Falk, Tabbert, Brumm, Hannam and Groth. Nays-None.

Morrow moved, duly 2nd by Falk, to approve the first reading of board policies 103, 102E4, 501.3, 501.4, 502.10, 502.10.E1, 507.8, 603.1, 603.3, 604.7, 701.5, 705.1R1, Rescind policy 500; New Policy 705.1R2. Ayes- Morrow, Falk, Tabbert, Brumm, Hannam, and Groth. Nays-None.

Morrow moved, duly 2nd by Hannam, to appoint Director Tabbert to the Worth County Conference Board. Ayes- Falk, Tabbert, Brumm, Hannam, Groth, and Morrow. Nays-None.

Falk moved, duly 2nd by Hannam, to appoint Director Bork to the Mitchell County Conference Board. Ayes- Tabbert, Brumm, Hannam, Groth, Morrow, and Falk. Nays-None.

Falk moved, duly 2nd by Tabbert, to approve Terry Sponheim as a volunteer wrestling coach for the 2020-2021 season. Ayes-Hannam, Groth, Morrow, Falk, Tabbert, and Brumm. Nays-None.

Falk moved, duly 2nd by Morrow, to approve the school nurse from part-time to full time effective December 15, 2020. Ayes- Groth, Morrow, Falk, Tabbert, Brumm, and Hannam. Nays-None.

Morrow moved, duly 2nd by tabbert, to approve the quote from Lynx for \$17,305 for a timing system for track. Ayes-Morrow, Falk, Tabbert, Brumm, Hannam, and Groth

Tabbert moved, duly 2 nd by Brumm, to ap Tabbert, Brumm, Hannam, Groth, and Mo	prove the timely open enrollments for the 2020-2021 school year. Ayes-Falk, prrow. Nays-None.
The meeting adjourned at 7:15 P.M.	
Attachments to the board minutes may be that are requested.	viewed at the Board Secretary's Office. There may be a charge for any copies
Steve Groth, President	Emily Johnson-Woods, Board Secretary